• Start date Start date
  • Replies Replies 28
  • Views Views 3,056

amish

Star gazer
I got banned!
ISP
MTNL Mumbai BB_600 @12mbps
I havent bought any computer since 2009. So I am highly outdated.

I have been using my laptop since 2009 and it is showing signs of dying.

I already have a spare Monitor and Keyboard and a PS/2 mouse and external DVD drive.

I do not want hi-fi desktop. i3 or i7 is enough.

If I want to assemble a desktop myself, what do I need to buy?

CPU Box (which one? I have old iBall one, will it work?)
Motherboard (which one should I go for?)
Processor (which one should I go for?)
RAM (which brand? what specifications?)
Powersupply (which brand?)
Harddisk (is seagate good? what RPMs?)

Is that all? What would be cost of each?

I do not want that I purchase above and later find out that I missed a critical component!

I have never assembled a PC myself but I am willing to go for it.

First fix a budget and then your actual requirements out of that machine.

Upvote 0
I forgot to mention in previous post that actually I have a complete PC with Core 2 Duo and possibly gigabyte motherboard. But I have not used that PC from 7-8 years now. So I would like to re-use parts of it and only buy what is necessary.

CPU Box (which one? I have old iBall one, will it work?) // PC case? Yes, older ones will do fine.

Yes PC outer case. Its an old iBall 6363 (came with SMPS - bought around 2009)

Image here: iBall i6363 Price, Specifications, Features, Reviews, Comparison Online – Compare India News18

If its going to work, then I may save few hundred rupees.

Will it work with new motherboard? i.e. will new motherboard fit in it?

Processor (which one should I go for?)

I think you meant i5? i5 should be a good in value for money. They are 6 core 6 thread. i7 will be much more expensive, and the extra cores / threads are not useful as of now for gamers. Very useful for Video encoding etc. Check equivalent AMD proc also.