E72 Hotmail & Gmail set-up nightmare

• Thread starter Thread starter Vishal J
  • Start date Start date
  • Replies Replies 12
  • Views Views 9,282

Vishal J

ISP
MTNL Triband
I updated the Phone Software Version to 053.001, the latest one available through Ovi Suite.

I have a BPL Prepaid connection & am using their WAP service for a few years now on my E50, just got an E72.

I have googled extensively to no avail,

Tried every trick mentioned on this > Nokia Support Discussions - Nokia E72 - Set up Hotmail, Gmail and Yahoo accoun... - Nokia Support Discussions

just cant seem to be able to set-up Gmail or Hotmail.

I did the part where you enter the wrong domain name to get the set-up boxes & then input the correct domain, username & p/w - That dosent work either!

Registered on email.nokia.com hours ago & then a second time a few hours later - no sms recd or any progress despite adding both Hotmail & Gmail login details there.

I have been using Nokia for about 10 years & dont want to Droid myself or bite the Berry, since my dad gifted this phone to me recently as a Birthday Gift.

Some help will be Much Appreciated!

Thanks - Vishal

I did the part where you enter the wrong domain name to get the set-up boxes & then input the correct domain, username & p/w - That dosent work either!

I also used to do same if want to set up mail for exchange.

Well I can help you with gmail setup. There are many ways to do. What exactly you are trying to do?

You can setup push email, pop, imap for gmail. What exactly you wanna setup?

i tried configuring gmail on my neighbor's newly purchased e5. similar experience. i would enter the user name password, it led to nowhere. in the end, installed opera mini on his phone and told him to use that. he liked it over the default browser on the phone.

---------- Post added at 06:43 AM ---------- Previous post was at 06:42 AM ----------

have not tried this though: Setup Instructions : Google Sync - Google Mobile Help