MTNL Delhi Frequent disconnects on new Freedom 1495 plan

ISP
MTNL
Guys, please help.

I recently switched from a 2 Mbps MTNL plan to an 8 Mbps plan (Freedom 1495). I have been using the same WiFi modem since the past 5 years (model: DNA-A212, provided by MTNL).

Since I have moved to the new plan, my connection has been disconnecting a lot. This is not a machine issue since I am facing the issue on my Macbook, my phone and my Windows machine as well. Even if the 4 lights on my modem are stable (including ADSL), my internet disconnects a lot while using WiFi. I am not sure if the same will happen if I use a wired connection from my modem to my laptop.
It is not a WiFi-range issue since I am sitting right next to the modem.

When the internet is working, I do get 8 Mbps speed. Here is a screenshot.
xWMN48g.png

What could be the possible problem and would buying a new router/modem help? If so, please suggest a good model.

Thanks,
Tushar

Last edited:
Post your line stats.
Snr should be more than 20 for a stable 8mbps connection. Also line attenuation should be lower than 15.
I have 26SNR and 15Line Attenuation, connection is stable.

Uh29Wjg.png

I am guessing this is what you asked for. And, according to the values you said, I think there is a problem with the line.
So, can I do anything about it? Would changing the router still help? MTNL guys keep telling me they have fixed the line but the internet still keeps disconnecting. I am guessing they don't actually do anything and now I am going to stick with "No, my internet is not working" when they call me to confirm. :\

Anyway, please tell me what can I do here.

Yup, your line is bad.
What is the distance between the local exchange (place where local servers are kept, where the line man sits. You can ask the line man where his office is) and your place. If it is more than 1.5km then i would recommend lowering your speed to 4 or possibly 2 mbps.