MTNL Broadband: speed lesser than 1mbps in 849 nu plan ?!!!

झुंजार

Shorei-ryu, Shugen-do...
ISP
MTNL
hi everyone,i am in serious need of help from guys here. i am a resident of azad nagar, thane(W). i got myself the 849 nu plan activated on d 1st 0f june, 09. i haven't got any sort of problems regarding browsing-speeds, disconnections, etc. i am a novice in this n also to the world of torrents. but one day i just thought of comparing my dl speed with that of my friend's with a BSNL dataone connection (NU, 2mbps), and its at that time i came to know what i am getting is rather 'too' less. i get a dl speed of 790-820 kbps (or nearabout 0.79-0.82 mbps), whereas my friend was havin 2.14 mbps (as what he told me)...in a frantic search i then landed up here on this site n saw to my amazement that almost all the guys here with mtnl mumbai 849 nu connections had atleast speeds higher than 1mbps. so i call up a technician at the local exchange n he tells me that 849 nu plan does get only 512kbps of dl speed, n what i am getting is rather more, n further adds that those who say that they get speeds higher than 1mbps in this plan r misinforming u. obviously, i dont believe him. n so am i writing this. foll r my connection stats:1. router - wired (MT 882, guess its Huawei smartAX, but mentioned nowhere)2. dsl speed - 262/805kbps3. US margin - (-)134. DS margin - 85. DS line attenuation - 476. US line attenuation - 267. ADSL line from my modem goes to the POTS splitter; and from the other end, main line goes to the main socket.8. torrent dl speed that i get from public trackers ranges between 78-83kbps, but never more than that (with port forwarded).9. connection gets disconnected whenever a call comes on my landline and the receiver is picked up :huh:10. its a PPPoE configured connection, over ethernet.i request ppl here to kindly do respond n help me out...may be some of d ppl here might've suffered similar probs earlier but now r out of it...i hope to c some positive replie