Airtel Broadband in Gurgaon Madness! :D

• Thread starter Thread starter adroit_raj
  • Start date Start date
  • Replies Replies 130
  • Views Views 33,413

adroit_raj

Hello Folks,

1. I have over 3+ years of experience with Airtel Broadband services (erstwhile Touchtel). I also have used other DSL and cable operators’ services in Delhi /NCR too.

2. Airtel is ok with speed. We in India have to be satisfied with poor quality of services, so this service is tolerable. Their speeds are about 30-60% of their claimed speed (depending on the traffic at that time of the day).

3. What’s most pathetic about Airtel Broadband services is - their tech support. It SUX big time. They have not been able to resolve a problem with their Ethernet modem at my premises for past 30 days. There is no method of online support / complaint. They dont even provide drivers (for USB modems etc) on their website.

The engineering staff (the guy who comes to your home to fix the problems) is AWEFUL. Most of the staff is clueless about how to fix even a small error.

4. Some amazing facts about Airtel DSL -

(a) I discovered last week that Airtel DSL runs a website - http://www.geocities.com/airteldsl/ (I am amazed to see a website of Bharti running on Geocities server!!!!!!!!!!). I dont know if Bharti takes responsibility of this site or not, but it looks to be owned by them. I havent tested the features here, but I am sure the Tech staff of Bharti can learn a lot from this site. :P

5. You can use Airtel Broadband, but don't expect the moon. The service is ok, slow and with very poor tech support. When its working, its ok, when it stops you have to wait till cows come home.