Problems with Port Forwarding due to NATing

• Thread starter Thread starter abhaga
  • Start date Start date
  • Replies Replies 13
  • Views Views 25,567
ISP
ACT
Hi,
I have been using ACT for almost 2 years now in our office. Since we often need to work from outside, we have a setup with some ports forwarded to access inside machines. Since about 1 month, it has stopped working. Checking the IP on the router, it seems an internal IP is being assigned. Someone mentioned they are NATing all Bangalore connections to some Chennai machine which has public IP.
The most frustrating part is that they will make such changes that are likely to affect so many customers without any announcement, email or any kind of intimation.
Is there a solution they are offering? Can I pay for a static public IP? Without being able to access out machines from outside, the connection is of little use for us.
Regards,
Abhaya

Who told you about this 'NATing to Chennai'?
How did you check the IP address on your router?

I checked the IP address on the router by logging on to the router. It gets an IP of 10.254.. which is a private IP. But on sites like WhatIsMyIP.com, it shows a public IP.
Any solutions?
Thanks,
Abhaya

Last edited by a moderator:
If you are using an enterprise class router like cyberoam, you can define ddns for external users. In the configuration you will have 2 options - Port IP or NATed Public IP. You can choose the NAT option.
The other option is to check if DD-WRT supports this configuration. I do not have a DD-WRT router to verify this for you.

Did you contact ACT? What did they say?
Other than the user in the other thread, did anyone else mention that connections are going through Chennai? On another note, many Chennai users report that they have Bangalore IP addresses. The packetsdo not go to Bangalore, but it's strange.
Can you run a traceroute to google.com?