Questions related to internet speed

ISP
Airtel Xstream
I am not tech savvy, hence forgive my ignorance. Recently, I did some tests to see the internet speed I was getting. I have a few questions related to that. Thanks for looking.

Background: I used to have an Airtel 100 mbps connection. Some time ago, I was offered a special rate upgrade to 300 mbps. I didn't really need the upgrade but I thought of giving it a try and see if I liked the experience.

My primary observation was that barring one laptop, I couldn't see any real difference in speed. To be clear, I'd never done speed testing before. My connection and additional wiring was set up by a tech pro whom I knew, who also certified the speed was fine. I'm no longer in touch and I have no one else to ask. So I decided to read up things and try it on my own.

What I realized was that of my 3 laptops, 2 don't support 5 ghz and their ethernet capabilities are limited. Writing about all of what I experienced will be too lengthy for a single post I think, so I'll start with the wired line experience. I tested separately with 2 cables that I already had with me- one is marked as Cat 5, the other as Cat 5E. I also used a USB adapter which I had (one of laptops doesn't have an ethernet port)- the description on it says 'Gigabit Lan'. I have given below my observations and then my questions.

Laptop 1: It doesn't have an ethernet port so I used the adapter. With each of the ethernet cables, the download speed was 70-90 mbps. Link speed showed as 100/100.

Laptop 2: With each of the ethernet cables directly connected or even via the adapter, the download speed was 70-90 mbps. Link speed in all cases showed as 100/100.