Need additional router suggestions for my new Airtel connection with ZTE F670LV9.0 for coverage issue

• Thread starter Thread starter Deadboy
  • Start date Start date
  • Replies Replies 65
  • Views Views 6,004

Deadboy

ISP
Airtel
I just got a 200Mbps connection and got ZTE F670LV9.0 with it which is kept on the ground floor. There is an issue with coverage as the room on the 1st floor gets around 26 Mbps and 12 Mbps on 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz networks respectively so I'm thinking of getting a second router for the 1st floor and connecting it via a LAN cable.

I expect to get the same 200Mbps on both floors and hopefully, it should support more if I upgrade the plan in the future. Do you guys have any suggestions? Also, do I need any specific type of LAN cable?

PS: I have D-Link DIR-816 and Alcatel-Lucent I-240G-D lying around. Are they any good?

Edit: I'm a noob in this stuff and will get the setup done by an Airtel technician. I'm looking for something that supports at least 500Mbps, hopefully within INR 5000.

Last edited:
TP-Link Deco X20

Something like this should be very good. Just make sure you backhaul using CAT5E or above cable

You can get almost 300 Mbps on 5Ghz with Mi 4A Gigabit Edition with openwrt and a little more with proprietary firmware, that's probably the cheapest option with warranty.

Also, I'd say you should get CAT5e from a local shop, it'll cost you almost the same.

Last edited:
You can get almost 300 Mbps on 5Ghz with Mi 4A Gigabit Edition with openwrt and a little more with proprietary firmware, that's probably the cheapest option with warranty.

Also, I'd say you should get CAT5e from a local shop, it'll cost you almost the same.
Unfortunately, I'm a noob in this stuff and will get the setup done by an Airtel technician so I guess I need something that doesn't involve a lot of tinkering.